General architecture of microprocessor

General architecture of microprocessor

General architecture of microprocessor Generally, microprocessor consists of three main component-

  • ALU (Arithmetic and logical unit)
  • Resistor array
  • Timing and control unit


It performs arithmetic as well as logical operation. Arithmetic operations are addition, subtraction, division etc. And logical operations are AND, OR, NAND, NOR etc.

Resistor array-

Resistor is a memory storage element used to store the data temporarily. The collection of resistors called a resistor array.

Mostly consist of 2 different types of resistor, thee are general purpose resistor (GPR) and special purpose resistor (SPR). It also contains one 8bit accumulator(A). Different general purpose resistor are B,C,D,E,H,L. Each resistor is of 8bit.

Special purpose resistor is SP (Stack Pointer), PC (Program Counter), IP (Instruction Pointer), flag resistor.

Timing and control unit-

It controls the flow of data or signal required for the operation of instruction or transferring of data from microprocessor to memory or to output devices. It also helps to generate clock frequency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *